Tastes Like Rock Magazine

The Dollyrots - Barefoot and Pregnant

Pop Punk

Arrested Youth/Hunnypot Records

Posted 3/22/14 11:45 PM ET

Tastes Like Rock - The Dollyrots - Barefoot and Pregnant Review
Tastes Like Rock - The Dollyrots - Barefoot and Pregnant Review

Pop Punk snark and humor mixed with Kelly Ogden's tight yet bubbly vocals and bass guitar, Luis Cabezas' smooth guitars that are still clearly guided by punk power chords and attitude... and yet there are some ballads in Barefoot and Pregnant too. This is The Dollyrots in top shape and better than I remember them from when they first broke out. Humor especially pervades the album, and that is very appealing to this reviewer; so much dour music is being released right now (even in the “funner” genres of music like Pop Punk), it's nice to be reminded to laugh at how seriously we all take ourselves. Times may be hard but laughter should never be buried, it's the only thing that breaks the monotony of societal discord. Soapbox away and digression over, even the love ballads, like “Stupidly In Love”, are all about the fun and weirdness of love; not the shitty parts for once. 

The above said, there's some social commentary on individualism thrown in too with one of my personal favorites on this album; “First World Anarchist”. Tongue is somewhat in cheek here too, which I also like, satire is one of the best tools in social change and revolution. There I go, making it sound like it's not a fun song again... just go buy Barefoot and Pregnant if you like your Pop Punk with plenty of snark, humor, sarcasm, and a nip of bubblegum; just a nip. Embracing and making fun of the tropes of Pop Punk in the same breath, The Dollyrots are doing it right. Critical reception has been mixed, mostly for lack of Joan Jett like attitude... firstly, let the band be themselves and secondly, this is POP Punk not Hardcore Punk. The only thing I would've liked to heard more of is punk style satire, but that's more of a Mike thing right now than a music in general thing. Plus, Kelly Ogden gets major points for recording this album while eight months pregnant with her and Cabezas' first child.

Track list:

  1. Come and Get It
  2. Stupidly in Love
  3. First World Anarchist
  4. Get Weird
  5. Puppy Dog Eyes
  6. Barefoot and Pregnant
  7. Bury Me in Ireland
  8. Nightlight
  9. Under the Same Sky
  10. Worstie
  11. Angel in Snow
  12. Homecoming
  13. Da Doo Ron Ron/I Wanna Be Sedated

Choice cuts are “First World Anarchist”, “Get Weird”, the title track, “Bury Me in Ireland”, and Da Doo Ron Ron/I Wanna Be Sedated”.

The Dollyrots get a solid 4 out of 5 for Barefoot and Pregnant.

The Dollyrots are Kelly Ogden (vocals, bass) and Luis Cabezas (guitar, vocals). For more from The Dollyrots check out www.thedollyrots.com.

- Michael Meade